Board of Trustees Meeting Summary May 4, 2017

- 1. Chair Kristen Betts called the meeting to order, welcomed everyone and acknowledged the following outgoing members of the Board of Trustees: Kim Pickett, Region 15 and Lori Maughan, Region 19.
- 2. Mr. Rob Cuff provided the Committee with a winter financial report. Expenses are up again this year at the venues and the UHSAA had a below average winter as far as activity revenue was concerned.
- 3. Mr. Cuff discussed coaches' certification. He reminded members that all coaches need to complete certification prior to coaching. Districts and schools shoulder the responsibility of training coaches and tracking coaches who have certified. New requirements will be added to coaches training for next fall, which will create more components to the certification of coaches and will need to be reported to UHSAA. Clair Anderson, founder of RegisterMyAthlete, shared with the Board a program called RegisterMyCoach, which will assist in tracking coaches certification.
- 4. Mr. Josh Taylor reviewed the 2017-18 UHSAA calendar. The calendar was approved for next year.
- 5. The UHSAA staff reviewed music, theatre/drama and speech/debate activities.
- 6. Mr. Jeff Cluff provided an update of officiating. He included how the year has gone and how many officials are currently certified and working.
- 7. USI Insurance presented the insurance package for the 2017-18 school year. Insurance items relating to the building and liability were discussed and approved. Catastrophic Insurance was approved for another two year period. The UHSAA Foundation and the UHSAA budget will again assist to fund the insurance premium.
- 8. Mr. Ryan Bishop reported on corporate sponsors and marketing. There have been current sponsors renew contracts for additional years and the future looks bright.
- Ms. Kim Monkres discused the sixth annual UHSAA/UIAAA Student Leadership Conference scheduled for August at Jordan High School. Nearly 200 students are expected to attend the conference. Special Olympics Utah will co-sponsor the event, which will include special Olympic participants.

- 10. The Board voted to not continue UHSAA dual state tournaments in wrestling as recommended by the Executive Committee. Classifications may sanction dual wrestling tournaments with the UHSAA.
- 11. A motion to have the contest limitations for all sports and activities the same from 1A to 6A was approved by the Board of Trustees as recommended by the Executive Commitee.
- 12. A motion was made and approved high school lacrosse as a UHSAA sanctioned activity beginning the 2019-2020 school year.
- 13. The revision of the UHSAA Transfer Rule was approved and will now be forwarded to governing boards of all member schools for ratification.
- 14. The Administration of the Association (Article 2 of the UHSAA Constitution) was approved and will now be forwarded to governing boards of all member schools for ratification.
- 15. Mr. Cuff provided an update on House Bill 413 and State School Board Rule R277-409.
- 16. Mr. Mark Van Wagoner, UHSAA legal counsel, discussed legal items pertaining to the Association.
- 17. Mr. Cuff provided articles from NFHS Today supporting the importance of education-based activities and the NFHS officials campaign.
- 18. Elections were held for the 2017-2018 Board of Trustees. Elected local school board members include the following: Marilyn Richards (6A—Jordan SD), Amber Shill (5A—Canyons SD), Allen Grunig (4A—Cache SD), Dale Whitlock (3A—Juab SD), Jeff Schena (2A—Millard SD), Cory Anderson (1A—Wayne SD). The three Superintendents appointed to the BOT include the following: Sam Jarman (Alpine SD), David Brotherson (Duchesne SD) and Jerre Holmes (North Summit SD). Bryan Durst (American Prep Draper) will carry over as the Charter School Representative and Greg Miller (Layton Christian Academy) will carry over as the Private School Representative. Jennifer Graviet is the State School Board Representative. Three high school district principals will be appointed by the Executive Committee in the June meeting to complete the 15 member Board of Trustees for the 2017-2018 school year.